A special place with stunning views of the Tasmanian Highlands and wilderness, and once the home of hundreds of Hydroelectric pioneers.
First scouted in the late 1800’s, the site was initially cleared as part of the Hydro development in the area during the 1920’s and 1930’s. Initially the workforce lived in tents and basic huts. However in the late 1930's more permanent houses were constructed on the escarpment, which were designed as family homes, and attracted a larger number of skilled engineers and trades to work on the Hydro. In the same year, the Chalet (now the Lodge) was also constructed. It was the centrepiece of the Tarraleah settlement and was originally built for the Hydro engineers and the Company Directors.
For a number of years the village grew, with many more roads of houses and public buildings being constructed, including churches, a town hall/picture theatre, public house, supermarket, hospital, roadhouse and more. The population grew to several thousand. However in the 1980's and 1990's the village suffered a decline, as capital works in the area were completed and the population moved onto other projects around the state. Eventually the town closed altogether and parts of the remaining buildings were leased to short term businesses. In 2006 the village was purchased and transformed into what it is today - a hotel on a village -scale.
Today Tarraleah Estate includes a spectacular look out point, a range of walks, exciting Tasmanian wildlife, a range of holiday and luxury accommodation options, as well as dining and function spaces. The estate also maintains a close association with Tarraleah Golf Club. Visitors can see the original church, the Great Hall and pub, as well as stay in one of 15 original houses, one of the 9 Luxury rooms in the Lodge or even a school room in the old schoolhouse.
Please note: Tarrahleah close over the winter season. Accommodation is unavailable from May 15 - September 16 2016.